Are you in Love?

25/10/2013 16:43

  by Ainish Philip

A lot of people are entangled in friendships which seem to start on a serious note but fizzes out in a couple of months.  I know many ‘teen couples’ who hang out with each other and are comfortable together. However, they seem to break up every couple of months, and get back ‘on track’ within a week or so because they are ‘so much in love’ with each other. People who needed their space at one instant suddenly feel they can’t live without each other the next moment.

Why does this ‘fall in’ and ‘fall out’ of love happen so much during our teen years? Because we think that at age 12-17 we have attained Solomon’s wisdom, so wise for our parents and elders to intervene. Also the reason that most of our happiness revolves around that one person. We cannot imagine being happy without the other person.

So is our relation with Jesus. Remember how nice it was to hang out with Him during those retreat days? We wouldn’t cease to talk about Him and what His love did to our lives. And after couple of months, that love seems to fade away. Oh well, I am not denying Him anymore, it’s just that I need my space! The want for space becomes so much that somewhere our love gets cold for Him. “The Spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak (Mathew 26:41).”

October 15th is special to me. Firstly it is my mum’s birthday. Secondly, it is the feast day of St. Teresa of Avila who loved Jesus beyond words.  “What more do we desire from such a good friend at our side? Unlike our friends in the world, He will never abandon us when we are troubled or distressed. Blessed is the one who truly loves him and always keeps him near.

Are you still in love with Him? Or has your love grown cold? He’s the Lord of come backs. There is nothing which can separate us from His love. C’mon get up, get down on your knees and tell Him you love Him.

I want to leave you with a quote from a saint who was so absorbed in the love of Jesus. “My God, if my tongue cannot say in every moment that I love you, I want my heart to repeat it to you as often as I draw breath.” St. John Maria Vianney

Stay in grace. Stay with Jesus.

Ps. Post your thoughts and questions on the 'Post your Comments' page.